Weekend in Napa

Spent a night in Napa for a quick weekend trip. I am not big on wine (mostly a whiskey drinker), so this trip had more chewing than sipping.

On Saturday we found ourselves at the Oxbow Market in downtown Napa around noon. I really enjoyed this place (and there’s free parking in the adjacent lot!). There are a bunch of different food stalls and restaurants you can choose from. It’s reminiscent of the Ferry Building in San Francisco and San Pedro Square in San Jose.

After walking around the building a few times, we decided to start off with some oysters from Hog Island Oyster Co. We ordered a mix of six different oysters and they were all so fresh and delicious! I especially loved how they were clean and I didn’t have to crack them open! Workin’ for your food ain’t that fun. I wish we had eaten more but we had to pace ourselves.

IMG_8256

IMG_8259

We then headed over to Gott’s Roadside. We ordered the bacon cheeseburger, ahi tuna tacos, and garlic fries. I’m not a fan of hard taco shells, but the tacos were quite appetizing. The burger was good, but I felt it was only a little bit better than a burger you would get at Red Robin. The fries were enjoyable but I freaking love garlic so there wasn’t enough of it in the fries for me (there’s never enough!!!).

IMG_8264

After our lunch, I headed over to Three Twins Ice Cream for some Land of Honey and Milk ice cream and then Ritual Coffee for a flat white (which was good, but not as good as Chromatic Coffee in San Jose). We found some seats outside (did I mention the weather was gorgeous?) to enjoy our sweet treats and people watch.

Soon it was time to check into our hotel. We stayed at the Staybridge Suites in Fairfield, about a fifteen minute drive from downtown Napa. I liked the layout of the room – a living room, kitchen, and separate bedroom and bathroom – but overall I did not have a great first impression of the hotel. Room is a little outdated and could use some more lighting. There was an extensive complimentary breakfast and the staff was decent and friendly enough, but I don’t think I’ll be back.

IMG_8277

IMG_8278

Because I had had had to watch the NBA All Star Saturday Night events, we didn’t have dinner until about 8:45PM. We wanted to avoid the dreaded Valentine’s Dinner wait and crowds so we found Chaats Cafe, an Indian restaurant half a mile down the street in a shopping plaza. We weren’t looking for a special or romantic atmosphere at all, but the restaurant did have roses on the tables and heart shaped balloons, which I thought was cute. They even gave us free gulab jamun for dessert. Overall, the food was good but a bit pricey due to its location.

The next morning, we met up with some of our friends at Jamieson Winery for a wine and cheese tasting. The winery seemed kind of small but looked really nice. One of the sides of the winery had some interesting murals painted on the walls.

IMG_8288

IMG_8284

Our host, John, was very friendly. He told us the recommended wine/cheese pairings, but ultimately told us to “play around” with the flavors to find our personal preference.

IMG_8315

IMG_8321

They also brought out one of their mini horses, Molly, who was THE CUTEST THING IN THE WORLD. Would you believe she’s their biggest mini horse!?

IMG_8297

IMG_8307

I had never been to Napa before, so I’m glad I went, but since I’m not into wine I feel like there wouldn’t be too much more for me to see/do/visit.

…Well, there is one more place I’d go back to Napa for- Bounty Hunter Wine Bar & Smokin’ BBQ. Whiskey flights!? Yes, please!

Leave a Reply

